Rainbow Bright.

 

I saw these rainbow cupcakes on pinterest and thought they looked amazing, so I had to give them a try.  The recipe came from amandacupcake.blogspot.co.uk and they do look slightly different to mine – better – but I don’t think I made enough buttercream icing.

The blue didn’t really come out too well in the actual cake but I read the bottle after and it said it doesn’t bake well!  Must read labels before use.  I also used food colouring gel for the other colours so I think that gives it a more vibrant colour.  I used a Wilton Colour Swirl from Hobbycraft for the icing, which is 3 separate piping bags and nozzles that clip together in one big nozzle so that the coloured icing comes out together in a rainbow swirl.

Overall,I think the rainbow effect came out quite well and they did taste good.  I had my little helper back this week too so all was right with the world.

Recipe:

Any vanilla cake recipe works but I used:

  • 8oz caster sugar
  • 8oz butter
  • 8oz self-raising flour
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

Method:

  • Beat sugar and butter together.
  • Add flour and eggs, a bit at a time, mixing between each addition.
  • Add vanilla extract and mix.
  • Divide into 3 or 4 bowls, depending how many colours you want to use, and add a different colour to each bowl.
  • Using deposable piping bags, pipe a layer of each colour into the cupcake cases.
  • Bake for 25-30 mins, or until a skewer comes out clean.

Buttercream icing:

Make to your own liking and divide into 3 bowls if you are using the colour swirl.  Add food colouring gel to each and fill the piping bags.  Pipe onto each cupcake and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

