Time for a change.

 

img_04251

 

I decided to make Brown Sugar Chocolate Mud Cake Cupcakes using the recipe I pinned from angelfoods.net.  They looked delicious and I love chocolate (you may have noticed)!

However, after a full week of mornings at nursery, my little helper was too exhausted to help me so I had to go it alone.  Luckily, the recipe was really easy to follow and the cupcakes, I thought, actually looked good and tasted great.  Thus, I have concluded that, either my little helper isn’t quite as helpful as he could be or I have used too many chocolate brownie recipes.  I think it must be the latter as I really do enjoy baking with my son and it does seem that I have made quite a few brownie type cakes with slightly different variations on the recipe, so maybe I need to challenge myself a bit more.

I need to take more inspiration from the Bake Off and push myself out of my chocolate comfort zone.  I also think the early morning drop-off at nursery is exhausting me too so I must be getting a bit lazy.  I will seek motivation for next time to try something a bit more adventurous.

img_04241

Ingredients:

  • 200g dark chocolate
  • 200g unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup milk (I used 120ml)
  • 200g brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp cocoa
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 150g self-raising flour
  • Nuts

Method:

  • Preheat oven to 165 C
  • Melt butter in saucepan, add milk, sugar, cocoa and chocolate, stirring until completely smooth.
  • Set aside and cool for 15 mins.
  • Lightly whisk the eggs, vanilla and salt.
  • Combine the egg mixture and flour into the chocolate mixture until fully incorporated.
  • Stir through the nuts. (I used almonds but any can be used).
  • Pour mixture into cake cases.
  • Bake for 45 mins.
  • Cool and refridgerate.
  • Decorate in vanilla buttercream icing, drizzle with chocolate ganache and pop a cherry on top.

 

Leave a Reply

