Keeping it simple.

img_03451

Raspberry and Coconut Loaf Cake.

Recipe:

  • 150g butter
  • 150g caster sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 eggs
  • 250g plain flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 100g desiccated coconut
  • 4 tbsp milk
  • 6 tbsp raspberry jam

Icing:

  • 80g icing sugar
  • 2 tsp raspberry jam
  • 2 tsp water
  • 2 tbsp desiccated coconut

Method:

  • Pre-heat oven to 180c/350F/gas mark 4.
  • Line a 1 kg loaf tin with baking paper.
  • Beat together the butter, caster sugar and vanilla extract before adding the eggs one at a time, beating between each addition.
  • Fold in desiccated coconut.
  • Add flour, baking powder and milk, a bit at a time.
  • Spoon a third of the batter into the loaf tin, before spreading the raspberry jam in a layer on top of the batter.  Cover the jam with the remaining batter.
  • Bake in the oven for 35 mins then cover with tin foil and bake for another 20-25 mins until cooked.
  • Leave cake to cool on a wire rack.

Icing:

  • Sieve icing sugar into a bowl and add the water until it reaches the right consistency.
  • Add the raspberry jam until you get the desired shade of pink.
  • Once the cake is cool spread the icing over the top and cover with some more coconut.

img_03471

I thought this recipe looked nice and simple, (but most importantly, delicious) and considering my recent bakes have been a bit of a fail, I thought simple was best.

My son helped as usual but wasn’t that patient whilst I lined the loaf tin.  He was the perfect helper though once we got started.  Luckily my one year old daughter wasn’t that interested in helping as she would probably just have eaten all the ingredients.  She was a little concerned by the noise of the mixer but not enough to keep her away from “Frozen” for too long.  (Great parenting 101 – use films to occupy kids whilst baking)!

img_03401img_03421

Of course, a life with two small children never runs smoothly and when you add moving house to the mix (hmmm), then things get even trickier.  So I baked the cake uncovered for 35 mins as per the recipe but in that time I managed to get a last minute viewing to a house we liked so I had to cover the cake and leave it before it was fully baked.

When I got home I put it in the oven covered in foil for 25 mins but it wasn’t even close to being cooked.  I’m not sure if it was because I left it out in the middle of baking but it took almost twice as long as the recipe said to cook.  I’m pretty sure this is why the edges were so hard but it still tasted quite nice.

So far, none of my bakes have gone according to plan but I will not give up.  I will keep trying, and at least the majority have tasted good so I can console myself by eating lots of cake.

(I may have to start a Bridget Jones style diary, recording my weight, because if I keep eating all this cake I may double in size).

One thought on “Keeping it simple.

Leave a Reply

