Ready, Set, Bake.

IMG_0326[1]

I may as well start with the result of this weeks cake – it was another fail.  Well, maybe not a complete fail as I actually think the the mirror glaze looked quite good.  Unfortunately, it just didn’t cover the mess I had made of the buttercream used to cover the cake.  All I could see were the cake crumbs spread throughout the buttercream icing and the mirror glaze was almost clear so it didn’t hide it.

However, I could see that it did look like a mirror glaze so next time (yes, there will be a next time) I will make sure I add two layers of buttercream.  (I obviously Googled ‘How to stop cake crumbs when icing’).

I have been inspired by The Great British Bake Off, hence the decision to make a mirror glaze.  I had already save a mirror glaze recipe from the Angel Foods website (www.angelfoods.net), so after week one of the Bake Off I just had to give it a try.  Next time I might try a chocolate cake and a chocolate glaze, which I hope will look better.

Just in case you were wondering, I made a basic sponge with jam and buttercream in the middle.  It tasted nice, so eating it all should not be a problem.

Mirror Glaze recipe:

  • 70g condensed milk
  • 100g sugar
  • 100g liquid glucose
  • 100g white chocolate
  • 50g water
  • 2 small spoons gelatine

Method:

  • Mix gelatine with 60g water.
  • Mix white chocolate with the condensed milk, then add the gelatine paste.
  • Boil the water then add the sugar and glucose and boil it until it reaches a temperature of 100 degrees then wait a few minutes until it reaches about 103 degrees.
  • Add to the chocolate, milk and gelatine and blend it.
  • Add some colour if you wish.
  • Mix until the colour and mix is consistent and then leave it in the fridge for 12 hours.
  • After being in the fridge and just before use, put the mix in the microwave for about 1 minute then leave to stand for a few minutes until it is at room temperature.
  • Pour over cake. (Place cake on a wire rack over a tray to catch and re-use the excess glaze).

 

2 thoughts on “Ready, Set, Bake.

Leave a Reply

