Third time lucky?

This week I have decided to try making Brownie cupcakes with marshmallow icing from cookingclassy.com and I was all prepared for converting this recipe before I started, I even saved a conversion chart to my phone for future use.  What I didn’t do was go into the actual site for the full recipe before writing down ingredients.  My pin for this recipe shows all the ingredients for making the cake and the icing with the total measurements, not the separate measurements for each part.  Needless to say, I made the cupcakes using all the granulated sugar just in the cake part of the process, I didn’t leave any for the icing.  I carried on regardless, hoping for the best, clearly not prepared for the worst!

I did have my little helper again doing some weighing, pouring and mixing and he even seemed to enjoy the cake mix.

IMG_0312

Once the cakes were in the oven I started preparing to make the icing and immediately I had another problem.  My hand-held whisk had broken the last time I used it and I needed one in order to make the icing as per the recipe.  So late Friday night I found myself at John Lewis looking for a hand-held whisk and a mixer and thankfully I managed to find a combination of the two; a mixer with a detachable whisk.

The icing turned out ok but I clearly needed a bigger nozzle for the piping as it didn’t look like the picture on the cookingclassy website.  (Hmmm, that’s a familiar sentence!)

I know I used the wrong measurement of sugar and it didn’t look like the picture as I had hoped it would, (although, the one pictured is one of the better ones) so it was time to taste it and see if the mistakes and imperfections actually mattered.

IMG_0314

It turns out they do matter.  The cake was too crunchy on top (I know it is a brownie cupcake, but these were like biscuits) and far too sticky in the middle; not gooey, sticky!  It was so sticky, it stuck to the cake case and I had to use a spoon to try and scrape it off.  My husband tried to quickly sneak a cake before putting the kids to bed but there was nothing quick about the process in this case!  The icing did taste like marshmallow but I prefer a nice buttercream icing really.

Overall, this was a bit of a fail.  The eating didn’t even make it all worth it.  I am very disappointed this week, not because of the recipe as I am sure, if I had made it right, they would have been delicious and far easier to eat; I am disappointed because of the huge mistakes I made.

Anyway, I will learn from the mistakes made this time as I did in my first baking blog and I know I will make more mistakes in the future and learn from those too.  Surely, I can only get better?  Let’s see.

Here is the recipe:

Cupcake

  • 150g plain flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 200g granulated sugar (not 400g like I used)
  • 90g light brown sugar
  • 50g cocoa powder
  • 180g butter, melted
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp milk

Marshmallow icing

  • 4 large egg whites
  • 200g granulated sugar
  • 1/4 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Method

  • Preheat oven to 180 degrees.
  • Whisk together flour, baking powder and salt.  Set aside.
  • In a separate bowl whisk together granulated sugar, light brown sugar and cocoa powder.
  • Pour in melted butter and stir until combined.
  • Mix in eggs and vanilla extract.
  • Stir in milk.
  • Add dry ingredients and mix until combined.
  • Divide batter among 12 cupcake cases filling each case about 2/3 full.
  • Bake for 16-20 mins.
  • Allow to cool in the tin for several mins before moving to a cooling tray.
  • Cool completely before piping the marshmallow icing on top.

For the marshmallow icing

  • Add eggs whites, granulated sugar and cream of tartar to a heat proof bowl.  Set bowl over a saucepan filled with simmering water.  Heat mixture, whisking constantly until egg whites are warm to touch and the sugar has dissolved, about 3-4 mins.
  • Remove from heat and beat mixture on a low speed gradually increase to a high speed until stiff, glossy peaks form, about 5-7 mins.
  • Add vanilla during last 10 secs of mixing.
  • For best results serve immediately.

 

Leave a Reply

