Pinterest obsession

I seem to have developed a slight addiction to Pinterest so I thought I would try and put my addiction to good use.  I have a board on Pinterest called “Cakes” so I decided to start another board called “Blog Cakes” and actually try out some recipes which I could blog about.  To make it even more interesting, I thought I would get my three year old to help

So the first recipe I have tried is a vanilla funfetti cake which I found on shugarysweets.com.  It looked really colourful with all the sprinkles going through the actual cake as well as on the icing.

Here is my three year old ready to bake.

image

It is quite interesting trying a new cake recipe with an impatient toddler who just wants to throw all the ingredients into the bowl.  It didn’t help that I had to convert the measurements into English as it is an American recipe.  I’m really not sure my interpretation of the ingredients were completely correct either so I was a little anxious about how it would actually turn out.

Anyway, we did have fun once we got going and it even looked like cake batter once we had finished the preparation.

imageimageimage

So the recipe I used after my conversions is as follows:

Cake

  • 5 egg whites
  • 94g milk (and yes, I weighed it – mistake number 1 perhaps!)
  • 94g butter
  • 219g granulated sugar
  • 1 and half tsp Madagascan vanilla extract
  • 312g plain flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • half tsp salt
  • 75g sprinkles

Icing

  • 125g butter
  • 500g icing sugar
  • 2 tsp Madagascan vanilla extract
  • 32g double cream
  • 65g sprinkles

Method

  • Preheat oven to 180 degrees.
  • Whisk egg whites together with 32g milk until slightly combined and set aside.
  • Beat butter, sugar and vanilla for 2 mins on medium speed.  Add flour, baking powder and salt and mix until combined.  Beat in egg white mixture until fully blended.  Add remaining milk and beat for 3-4 mins.  Fold in sprinkles.
  • Split mixture into two 9 inch cake tins (although I only have one 9 inch cake tin so I poured in the whole mixture and baked it for 50 mins, then I cut it in half once it had cooled).
  • Bake in the oven for 25-30 mins.
  • Once baked remove and leave to cool completely on a cooling rack.

Icing

  • Beat butter for 3 mins.  Add in the icing sugar, cream and vanilla.  Beat for an additional 4-5 mins.

Putting it together

  • Place one layer of the cake on a cake stand.  Add a large amount of icing to the top and smooth out using an offset spatula.  Top with second layer of cake.  Add the rest of the icing to the entire cake.  Apply sprinkles to the side of the cake using your hand or the spatula.

Now, having followed the instructions, I can tell you that my cake looks nothing like the one on Shugary Sweets website.  How did they get the cake and the icing to look so white?  My attempt doesn’t look bad but it is just not what I expected it to look like. And where did the sprinkles in the cake mixture go?

imageimage

Anyway, the final thing was to actually try the cake and it did taste quite nice.  My husband obviously thought so as it went rather quickly.  It did in fact taste like the vanilla cake I usually make and I think that is a much easier method so I think I will just use that in future.

Well, onto the next recipe, maybe I should try one with measurements and ingredients I actually understand.

Vanilla Funfetti Cake

Pinterest

 

One thought on “Pinterest obsession

Leave a Reply

